Resources

Statewide Agencies:


Advocacy:

• Disability Rights New Jersey, (800) 922-7233; www.drnj.org
• Statewide Parent Advocacy Network (SPAN, (800)654-SPAN; www.spannj.org
• Education Law Center; www.edlawcenter.org
• NJ Coalition for Inclusive Education, (732) 613-0400; www.njcie.net;
• Wrights Law, www.wrightslaw.com
Assistive Technology
• NJ Coalition for the Advancement of Assistive & Rehab Technology, http://www.njcart.org/
• Rehabilitation Technology Services and Technology Lending Center (CPNJ), (888) 322-1918
• Disability Resources for Assistive Technology, http://www.disabilityresources.org/AT.html
• Assistive Technology Center (Advancing Opportunities) http://www.assistivetechnologycenter.org/tlc/tlc.php
• Family Resource Connection, Inc., http://frainc.org/techconnection/
Child Care:
• NJ Inclusive Childcare Project, (800) 654-7726 x108; www.spannj.org/njiccp

• NJ Association of Childcare Resource and Referral Agencies, 732-947-8730; www.njaccrra.org


Disabilities:

• The Arc of New Jersey, (732) 246-2525; www.arcnj.org
• Council on Developmental Disabilities, (800) 216-1199; www.njddc.org
• Division on Developmental Disabilities, (800) 832-9173; www.state.nj.us/humanservices.ddd

• National Information Center for Children & Youth with Disabilities, (800)695-0285; www.nichcy.org


Early Intervention:

• New Jersey Early Intervention System, (888) 653-4463; www.njeis.org
Education:
• NJ Dept. of Education, (609)292-4469; www.state.nj.us/education
• NJ Dept of Early Childhood Education, 609-777-2074; www.nj.gov/education/ece
• Head Start Programs, www.state.nj.us/humanservices/oece/head_start.htm
• NJ Dept. of Special Education, (609)292-4469; www.nj.gov/education/specialed
• The Learning Resource Centers, (609)292-4469; www.nj.gov/education/lrc
• Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) www.idea.ed.gov



Family Support:

• Family Support Center of NJ, (800) FSC-NJ10; www.fscnj.org
• NJ Self-Help Clearinghouse, (800) 367-6274; http://www.njgroups.org
• Exceptional Parent Resource Guide, (800) E-Parent; www.eparent.com

• Options Manual (800) FSC-NJ10; www.fscnj.org


Health Care:

• Community Health Law Project (888 )838-3180 Hotline, will then give you your local #; http://www.chlp.org
• Family Voices (Health Issues): (800 )654-SPAN x110 www.familyvoices@spannj.org
• NJ Family Care (Health Coverage) (800)701-0710 www.njfamilycare.org



Parent to Parent Support:

• National Father's Network; www.fathersnetwork.org
• NJ Statewide Parent to Parent: (908)537-4673; email: parent2parent@spannj.org



Social Services:

• Women, Infant and Children (WIC) (800) 328-3838 www.state.nj.us/health/fhs/wic/index.shtml
• Division of Youth and Family Services (DYFS) 877-652-2873; www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dyfs
• Special Child Health Services (888) 653-4463
• Supplemental Security Disability Insurance (800) 772-1213; www.ssa.gov



Transition Resources:

• Boggs Center, (732) 235-9300; http://rwjms.umdnj.edu/boggscenter

• National Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center (NECTAC); www.nectac.org


DISABILITY RELATED/SPECIFIC RESOURCES:
Autism:
• Autism NJ (800) 4-Autism www.autismnj.org (formerly COSAC)
• Autism Speaks (888)777-6227 www.autismspeaks.org
• Autism Society of America (800)328-8476 www.autism-society.org


Visual Impairment:
• Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired (973)648-3333 (Central Office)
• National Federation of the Blind (410)659-9314 www.nfb.org
• American Foundation for the Blind (800)232-5463 www.afb.org


Cerebral Palsy:
• United Cerebral Palsy Association of NJ, Inc. (800)322-1918 www.cpofnj.org
Hearing Impairment:
• Division of Deaf and Hard of Hearing (800)792-8339 www.state.nj.us/humanservices/ddhh


Down Syndrome:
• National Down Syndrome Society (NDSS) (800)221-4602 www.ndss.org
• National Down Syndrome Congress (NDSC) (800)232-NDSC www.ndsccenter.org
• The Arc of NJ (732)246-2525 www.arcnj.org
• The Judy Center for Down Syndrome (healthcare) (201)996-JUDY
• Down Syndrome Web Page www.downsyndrome.com


Fragile X:
• The National Fragile X Foundation (800)688-8765 www.FragileX.org
• The Fragile X Association of NJ www.fragilex.org/htm/new_jersey.htm


Spina Bifida:
• The Spina Bifida Resource Network (908)782-7475; www.thesbrn.org


Sibling Resources:
• The Sibling Support Project (206)297-6368 www.siblingsupport.org
• Parents and Agencies Supporting Siblings (PASS) (908)537-4673
• Frequently Asked Questions Siblings Need to Know About their Brother or Sister with Special Needs:
For a copy, contact Mid-Jersey Cares REIC (732)937-5437


Transition Resources:
• Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) http://idea.ed.gov
• Wrights Law www.wrightslaw.com
• National Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center (NECTAC) www.nectac.org
• Head Start Programs www.state.nj.us/humanservices/oece/head_start.htm
• NJEIS Transition to Preschool Handbook *Speak with a Service Coordinator*; see www.njeis.org
• "Special Needs Successful Inclusion: A Guide to Planning Community Activities for Children with
Special Needs": To order, go to www.cnjmchc.org
• NECTAC: Transition www.nectac.org/topics/transition/transition.asp
• NECTAC: Inclusion www.nectac.org/inclusion
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.